my love affair with thai food: part two

In my last post, I explained my brief, yet passionate background in Thai cuisine which had led me to hold it so dearly to my heart.  The purpose of all that detailed explanation was to establish that I have very high standards for Thai (vegetarian) food, and that the following is not to be taken lightly:

A new Thai restaurant has opened up down the street from me, and it’s AUTHENTIC and AMAZING.

It’s called Easton Thai Kitchen (because it’s located on Easton Avenue). Despite their unfortunate opening during the exact moment when all of New Brunswick was emptying out for the summer, I think this restaurant has what it takes to be a staple of Hub City food culture.  There is an extensive vegetarian menu, the staff is friendly and attentive, and the food is very reasonably priced.  But what’s more than this, I have not had such high-quality Thai food since being in Thailand.

perfect thai iced tea

veggie curry puffs: somewhat like samosas, but with a light puff pastry and served with a sweet cucumber sauce

massaman curry: with fresh veggies, as well as pumpkin and pineapple

mango and sticky rice, complete with sweetened condensed milk, strawberry and mint!

Everything was just so masterfully…Thai.  I could have sworn that when I took the first bite I was back at May Kaidee’s or back at this restaurant on Koh Tao.

Nostalgia aside, the food at Easton Thai Kitchen is so delicious and reasonable that it will definitely be my new favorite restaurant destination.

You can visit them at this location:

144 Easton Avenue

New Brunswick, NJ 08901

One response to “my love affair with thai food: part two

  1. Pingback: Thai Food Van, and a favorite recipe « Two Different Girls·

Leave a Reply

