indian coconut kale soup

Today’s one of those rainy Saturdays that just makes me love the rain.  I went for a walk this morning in the park behind my house to clear my mind and lost myself in the flowers and leaves all covered in raindrops.

Today’s also the kind of rainy Saturday that makes me want soup.  This recipe is inspired by a sudden desperate desire for kale soup and the Indian cookbook I recently acquired from my friend Pooja (whose blog you can check out over here) for my birthday.  I was just winging it, but it turned out better than I could have hoped: hearty, spicy, and sweet.

  • 1 tbs butter
  • 2 cups veggie stock
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 4 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 4 handfuls of kale
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 tbs garam masala
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 tsp “Indian paste”

FOR THE INDIAN PASTE:

The “Indian paste” is, according to my friend Pooja, the base for all Indian cuisine.  It’s super easy and adds great flavor to all Indian/Indian-inspired dishes! Just put 6 green chilies, 6 cloves garlic, and a 1″ piece of ginger in a food processor and blender.  Process and keep in fridge for all Indian dish endeavors.

FOR THE SOUP:

  1. Heat butter in a large pot or wok.  Add onions and celery and saute until onions look clear.  Throw in the tomato and stir.
  2. Add garam masala, cumin seeds, coriander, and “Indian paste.”  Stir in until all veggies are coated and spices smell fragrant.
  3. Pour in the veggie stock and coconut milk and bring to a boil.  Stir in the kale and peas until kale is mostly covered by the liquid.
  4. Turn down the heat and let simmer for 20-25 minutes.
  5. Ladle into bowls and enjoy!

Happy Saturday!

3 responses to “indian coconut kale soup

Leave a Reply

