rosemary-infused gin

Remember back in this post, when I told you about The Rumor Mill and their fabulous gin and vodka infusions?  I finally got around to trying an infusion of my own, and as it turns out, it’s incredibly simple to do.  The hardest part is just waiting the 3-4 days for it to infuse.

When I visited The Rumor Mill for the first time, I was with my good friend Leah.  We both ordered rosemary gin and tonics and were absolutely smitten.  This was almost two months ago.  Earlier this week I texted her to tell her I was attempting to infuse gin with rosemary, and the following is a screenshot she took of our exchange:

It’s like our brains are operating on the same wavelength, even though she’s hundreds of miles away…

Sometimes when you’ve been very close friends with someone for over a decade, these kinds of cute coincidences happen.  It would be better if we could have tested it out together…but that’s for a different post.

Back to the process!  First, you’ll need 2 sprigs of rosemary.  I plucked some from my herb pot in my backyard!

Pour some gin (I used Seagrams) into an airtight bottle or container.  Then, add your rosemary.  If you want a stronger rosemary flavor, chop it up before throwing it into your gin.  If you wanna do what I did, just throw the sprigs (including stems) straight into the liquor, whole.

Store in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days.  When it’s ready, then go ahead and make your favorite gin drink with your rosemary gin!

I went with a simplified (read: lazier) gin and tonic.  Instead of buying tonic AND limes, I just used lemon lime sparkling water.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 oz rosemary gin
  • 2 ice cubes
  • 5 oz lemon lime sparkling water

To enjoy, just combine ingredients in a medium-sized glass and start sipping!

So simple, right?

Next time you want to amp up your liquor cabinet and/or impress your guests, try an infusion!

Have a happy Labor Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

