pile of craft

Yesterday I attended Charm City Craft Mafia’s annual craft show, Pile of Craft, and it was awesome!  I didn’t know what to expect when I walked up the stairs of 2640 St. Paul Street, which from the outside just looks like a regular church.  But my breath caught when I stepped inside–it was beautiful!

wpid-20140607_105749.jpg wpid-img_20140607_130924.jpg

The gorgeous space was like a dream: every corner filled with beautiful prints, jewelry, soap, pottery, and much much more.  I circled around for about an hour as I admired the handiwork of the crafters, all the while feeling more and more conflicted as to how I was going to spend the small amount of cash I brought for the event.  How could I choose?  I wanted to support all of these artists!

wpid-20140607_111728.jpg

Oh no, even more craft?  Goodbye money!

wpid-20140607_130057.jpg

At last I found myself with a purse full of these little treasures, and I’d like to spend the rest of this post promoting these artisans, because with the internet you don’t have to go to a craft fair to buy their work.

Clockwise from top left:

1.  With Father’s Day coming up, I was delighted to peruse through the print vendors for a special card for my dad.  This “Best Dad I Ever Saw” card was made by Flat Rat Studio, who also make prints and magnets in addition to cards.  Their “Home is Where My Cat Is” print especially spoke to my needs, but I restrained myself and just bought the card.  My dad’s going to love it!

2. This cute catnip kitty toy is made by Cotton Monster, who also makes absolutely adorable stuffed monsters and kitties from recycled, thrifted clothing.  I knew my kitties would love to rub their little faces on the toy and play with its tassels…and I was right!

wpid-20140607_133141.jpg

Pickles is nipping out hard.

3. The tiny green townhouse pin is also from Flat Rat Studio, and was free with my card.  These crafters also sell their “little houses” series on magnets and coasters.  The coasters are made from fallen branches found in Wyman Park, which is a lovely place to take a stroll or hike right near my house!

4.  The kitty-printed paper bag housed the kitty toy from Cotton Monster, to keep the catnip smell off of my things so the cats wouldn’t try to live in my purse.  But it’s so cute I want to use it for something else.

5. I am a sucker for artisan soap, and the soaps from Long Winter Farm were all so fragrant that I spent a lot of time happily sniffing before I settled on this Acorns and Black Oak bar.  It smells like a verdant alpine forest on a chilly spring morning, and the little bar is so packed with scent that just sitting near it in my kitchen right now I feel transported to a fairyland.  I can’t wait to use it!  Long Winter Farm also make lip balms in such lovely flavors as Chocolate Lavender, Green Tea Truffle, and Rosemary Litsea.  I have so many lip balms right now that I couldn’t rationalize buying another one, but I may order from them in the future!

Finally, I want to take a moment to reflect on a type of experience that is altogether foreign to me: running into people I knew in high school.  Living in New Jersey for the past five years, there was practically never even the possibility of crossing paths with people I grew up with unless I was visiting Maryland on a break.  So my heart skipped a beat when I was wandering through the fair of supposedly strangers when out of nowhere I heard someone call my name.  I was so taken aback by the novelty of it that it took me a minute to register that this was someone I knew!  A girl I went to high school with, Eve Mobley, is a member of the Charm City Craft Mafia!  Her crafts were breathtaking, so I’m going to finish this post with a few photos of her work! According to her etsy, you can expect to be able to purchase these online sometime this summer!

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

 

Leave a Reply

